HomeMy WebLinkAboutupland-road_0001 AREA FORPI NO.
FORM B - BUILDING H 397
MASSACHUSETTS HISTORICAL COMMISSION
294 WASHINGTON STREET, BOSTON, MA 02108
n Lexington
'of } ` ress 1 Upland Road _
Apr
t µ
toric Name Saunders House
_ t
't
Present residential
AJ
nor
Original residential
ESCRIPTION:
e 1894
ourceLexington Minute Man, Aug. 2, 1895
SKETCH MAP
Show property's location in relation Style Shingle Style
to nearest cross streets and/or
geographical features. Indicate Architect
all buildings between inventoried
property and ne e it "ntersection. Exterior wall fabric shingles
i Indicate nort
G-C Ev Outbuildings garage
�0
D`
Major alterations (with dates)
4"
cy
Moved Date
Sr' Approx. acreage .2 A. (15870 ft.2)
Recorded by Anne Grady Setting Meriam Hill; amid houses of
Organization Lexington Historical Commission similar size and late nineteenth century
Date March, 1984 construction date.
(Staple additional sheets here)
ARCHITECTURAL SIGNIFICANCE (Describe important architectural features and
evaluate in terms of other buildings within the community.)
One of the few Shingle Style cottages on Meriam Hill, this is a house
of simple design. The most prominent feature is the broad gambrel roof which
encompasses the second and third floors and supports two large shed dormers.
This house was well received by the local newspaper which described it as "a
quaint cottage amid some dwarf pines . . . , particularly pleasing and
picturesque and appropriate to its size and location."
HISTORICAL SIGNIFICANCE (Explain the role owners played in local or state
history and how the building relates to the development of the community.)
Mr. Saunders of Cambridge built this house. He was the son of a mayor
of that city and the brother of Mrs. R.P. Clapp who lived at 27 Meriam Street.
BIBLIOGRAPHY and/or REFERENCES (name of publication, author, date and publisher)
Lexington Minute Man, March 16, 1894, August 3, 1894, August 2 , 1895.
IOM - 7/82
INVENTORY FORM CONTINUATION SHEET Town Property Address
LEXINGTON 1 UPLAND ROAD
MASSACHUSETTS HISTORICAL COMMISSION Area(s) Form No.
MASSACHUSETTS ARCHIVES BUILDING
220 MORRISSEY BOULEVARD 397
BOSTON, MASSACHUSETTS 02125
HISTORICAL SIGNIFICANCE:
The original owner of this house was a Mr. Saunders. According to a brief mention appearing in the Minute-man on
August 2, 1895,the house was built"last winter". The January 14, 1898 Minute-man noted that Herbert Saunders had
sold his Upland Road house and moved out of town.
By 1906 the house was occupied by Edward Sargent,who worked as a private secretary in Boston and lived here with his
wife and two young sons. The Sargent family continued to live here into the early 1920s. In 1926 the house was
occupied by John Proctor. In the 1930s and as late as 1942, Charles Whipple, a Boston merchant. lived here.
BIBLIOGRAPHY:
Lexington Directories,various dates.
Lexington Minute-Man,March 16, 1894;August 3, 1894;August 2, 1895;January 14, 1898.
Middlesex County Register of Deeds, Cambridge, Mass.
U.S. Census Records, 1900-1930.
Supplement prepared by:
Lisa Mausolf
June 2009