Lexington Home Page
WEB PUBLISHED-PUBLIC DOCUMENTS
BUILDINGS, LAND, UTILITIES & TRANS REPORTS
Property Survey Forms
9/18/2018 2:30:08 PM
9/18/2018 2:30:07 PM
Property - StreetNumber
There are no annotations on this page.
Document management portal powered by Laserfiche WebLink 9 © 1998-2015
All rights reserved.
Pages to print
Enter page numbers and/or page ranges separated by commas. For example, 1,3,5-12.
After downloading, print the document using a PDF reader (e.g. Adobe Reader).
View plain text
INVENTORY FORM CONTINUATION SHEET Town Property Address <br /> LEXINGTON 14 PERCY ROAD <br /> MASSACHUSETTS HISTORICAL COMMISSION Area(s) Form No. <br /> MASSACHUSETTS ARCHIVES BUILDING <br /> 220 MORRISSEY BOULEVARD 491 <br /> BOSTON,MASSACHUSETTS 02125 <br /> HISTORICAL SIGNIFICANCE: <br /> Like many residents of Munroe Hill, Col. Charles Thornton first came to Lexington as a summer visitor. The Lexington <br /> Minute-Man of July 28, 1892 states: <br /> Col. Thornton and family, of Cambridge, who have so many seasons been guests at the Russell House,have <br /> rented the residence of A.S. Parsons off Main street, for the winter and taken possession of the same. Col. <br /> Thornton is another instance of a mere summer visitor to the town being so attracted by its natural charms that he <br /> has been led to finally make his home here permanently, and is even now building a residence for himself on Mt. <br /> Vernon. This has been so frequently the case that it has become quite worthy of note. <br /> A description of the house while it was under construction appeared in the Minute-Man on October 20, 1893: <br /> Col. Thornton is erecting quite a unique style of house,the low,rambling effect being characteristic of the <br /> structure,which will be decidedly picturesque when completed. The place is located off Percey road and has a <br /> fine approach, as it nestles to the side of the hill. The driveway is slightly terraced with field stone and the <br /> foundation walls of the house,up as far as the hip roofed gables, are of field stone with granite finish. Next to <br /> Col. Thornton's house there is a smaller structure being built, similar in style to his own, for the occupancy of his <br /> sister. <br /> Col. Thornton died on January 21, 1898. The house was sold to William E. Harmon, a real estate broker. George Childs, <br /> a provisions dealer in Boston owned the house from about 1905 into the 1920s. It was subsequently owned by the Baird <br /> family from 1948 to 1988. <br /> BIBLIOGRAPHY: <br /> Lexington Directories,various dates. <br /> Lexington Minute-Man,July 28, 1892; October 20, 1893. <br /> Middlesex County Register of Deeds, Cambridge, Mass. <br /> 1898 Atlas. <br /> Supplement prepared by: <br /> Lisa Mausolf <br /> January 2009 <br />
The URL can be used to link to this page
Your browser does not support the video tag.